Good book: Good Book, by David Plotz

I just finished reading Good Book by David Plotz. I was a big fan of his Blogging the Bible series on Slate, so I was excited when this book came out. It’s basically all the blog posts in a book. For those who are unfamiliar, Plotz read the entire Jewish Bible and blogged about it.

Reading the book made me think about doing the same thing. I read most of the Bible when I was a college student for my Old and New Testament classes. I don’t remember a lot of the Bible, although I remember the classes. They were the best I took in college.

I’m not sure if I am up to the challegen. Plotz came at the Bible from the persepctive of a Jew who believes in God. I’d come at it from the perspective of a lapsed Methodist who believes in something. It might be interesting.

The book itself was great, though. Often humorous, with interesting commentary. I disagreed with some of it, but that was half the fun.

Leave a Reply

