Then and Now

My 10 year high school reunion was a couple of weeks ago. I didn’t attend (maybe I’ll make the effort for my 20 year), but it has gotten me thinking about how far I’ve come (or not) since I graduated from good ole CHS. Obviously, I’m 10 years older (and, truth be told, 10 pounds heavier), but I don’t think you can quantify time just in numbers (or pounds).

So, what exactly do I have to show for the last 10 years? I know this isn’t a complete list, but it’s the stuff that comes to mind, which probably makes them more significant.

  • I graduated from college
  • I lived in France for six months
  • I’ve traveled to Italy (twice), Ireland, France (twice), Costa Rica, Greece, Spain, England, New York City, Alaska (3 times), San Francisco (too many times to count), Disneyworld (as a grown-up), Utah (Zion National Park), and Colorado
  • I’ve had several relationships, some more memorable than others (and some more successful)
  • I’ve lived in LA, Alaska, and Seattle (in addition to Portland)
  • I’ve had 5 jobs
  • I went to graduate school
  • I was the maid of honor at my sister’s wedding
  • I’ve seen three friends and five close family members get married
  • I survived my parents’ divorce
  • I’ve had 3 cats (2 still with me)
  • I’ve been blessed with 14 new family members (through birth and marriage)
  • I lost my Uncle Bill and my Grandma Mona
  • I’ve met the person I want to spend the rest of my life with
  • I’ve made friends in different states and countries (and lost touch with a lot of them)
  • I’ve perfected my apple pie
  • I’ve owned 3 different cars
  • I pierced (and then removed) a belly and eyebrow ring
  • I’ve gotten 2 tattoos
  • I now own “grown-up’ furniture
  • I’ve testified in a courtroom (twice so far)
  • I’ve celebrated my dad’s 60th birthday
  • I’ve held a friend’s child
  • I’ve survived one very broken heart and one awful relationship (not the same)
  • I’ve found a career field that I am good at (and believe makes a difference)
  • I have logged probably 1000 volunteer hours (counting internships and practicums)
  • I’ve lived in 8 apartments (and had a few horrible roommates – and one or two great ones)

More important than the things I can put a list are probably the things I’ve learned – or had reinforced. Mostly, that my family is the most important thing in this world; that it’s silly to have regrets (even though I still do); that I wouldn’t have made it through some of the toughest spots of the last decade without my friends; and that there are very few things better than waking up with the person you love, every single morning.

It also strikes me as amazing, and lucky, that I still see and talk to (if not on a highly regular basis) my closest friends from high school. Even though we live in different states and have different lives (some are married, some are parents, some are still figuring it out), every Christmas, at least, we get to see each other. I still love them all so much. And I don’t think I can express how much it means that my two very, very best friends, Brad and Lisa, the friends who have known me since I was 15 and 12 (respectively), are the same friends I counted as my very best in high school, are the same friends who I miss most from home, and are the same friends who I know I’ll carry with me into the next 10 years.

So, hopefully when the next reunion comes along, I’ll feel equally pleased with the things I’ve accomplished. Maybe by then I’ll actually have adequate closet space.

One thought on “Then and Now

Leave a Reply

