Book the Third

So, I finished Darkly Dreaming Dexter, (3 down, 97 more to go) yesterday. I didn’t much care for it, as it turned out. I think the problem is that I watched the TV show first. Season 1 of Dexter basically follows the plot of Darkly Dreaming Dexter, except when it doesn’t – and that’s the problem. On TV, Dexter is much more likable, despite being a vigilante serial killer. In the book, he was much harder to like. On the pro side, the book is well written with witty prose and good imagery. It was a fast read and I actually liked it up until the last 15% (I don’t know what that is in pages … I read it on my Kindle), where it began to diverge more from the show. I also found the ending a bit confusing – although, that may have been the point. Dexter the character was also rather confused at the end of the book.

All in all, I’d say, if you like a good murder mystery (this book IS a murder mystery at its heart – although, there are several murders committed by Dexter along the way), it’s a good read. I’d only recommend it though, if you hadn’t watched the TV show already.

Grade: B

Next up:

Still working on Man’s Search for Meaning. I need to download The Host, but may put that off while I finish Magyk, book one in the Septimus Heap series (which is kid lit, which I have a fondness for).

Leave a Reply

