Book 12: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley

Let me start by saying, I really liked this book.

Set in a small village in England, 1950, The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie is essentially a murder mystery. What makes it fantastic is the narrator – Flavia de Luce, who is 11 (the book, however, is not children’s literature). Flavia is a brilliant chemist and the youngest of three sisters, who live with their widowed father on a grand estate. Flavia is witty, self-deprecating, smart, and rather audacious. When she stumbles upon a murdered man in the gardens (the cucumber patch, to be exact, which I thought was a great added description and is characteristic of the style of the book), Flavia takes it upon herself to solve the mystery,both to satisfy her curiosity and to clear her father’s name. Added to the mix are Flavia’s two older sisters, Ophelia and Daphne (and might I say, great names all), who are generally horrible (though this is, of course, Flavia’s perspective), as well as Dogger, the gardener, who is a damaged gentle soul and perhaps Flavia’s only real friend. The book moves along at a good pace and is well written. The description on Amazon suggests that it is a combination of Harriet the Spy and Sherlock Holmes, and I’d say that’s accurate. I was pleased to find out that Alan Bradley is writing a second Flavia de Luce book, due out next March.

Grade: A

Up next: I gave in and bought the second Sookie Stackhouse book, Living  Dead in Dallas. I’ve also downloaded a bunch of free books on Amazon, all classics that I haven’t read, including Pride and Prejudice, Jane Eyre, Little Women, and Peter Pan (to see if the poster who commented on the Barry/Pearson Peter Pan books had any merit to her argument). We’ll see which of them I actually read – I’ve tried to read some of them before and failed. I’m wondering, though, if it has something to do with the fact that all of those books are printed with the tiniest font ever, which turns me off – if I don’t aesthetically like a book, I often have trouble reading it.

Also, as far as the countdown goes, I’ve read 12 of 100 books in just under a month 25 days (I started the count on Oct 6), which averages out (approximately) to a book every 2 days. If I kept up that pace, I’d be finished in 176 more days – well within a year. (If my math is right, which isn’t always a sure thing!) I assume it will take me longer – since some books will surely be slower than others, but even then, it’s looking good (and I am a giant nerd).

2 thoughts on “Book 12: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, by Alan Bradley

  1. Hi! So many people seemed to have loved The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, I really want to get a copy after reading so many favourable reviews. I hope you enjoy Living Dead in Dallas, I’m up to number 7: All Together Dead. I’m so hooked on the series now, I’ll be really sad when there are no new Sookie books left for me to read. 😦

Leave a Reply

