Tis the season …

I’m having a hard time believing that Christmas is just around the corner. I think this is partly to do with the fact that I am an adult, I barely get to take anytime off, and most of my Christmas experience is going to be experienced on a train. The absolute only thing I miss about the department (besides Kristina, of course) is how easy it was for me to take time off … not so now.

It’s also influenced by the fact that my wedding is in less than a month and suddenly there are all these little things to attend to – ie: forcing people to RSVP, seating arrangements, finding jewelry, shoes, etc. I’m also really excited about it, so there’s that.

Then, of course, the alien life force living inside of me (currently the size of a kumquat according to this website), which basically has taken over my life. If I’m not throwing up, I’m peeing, or I’m napping, or I’m thinking about the various twinges and twitches that are suddenly reason for concern. And while the baby book keeps telling me my boobs should be huge by now, no such luck. So, right now – thumbs down on pregnancy. Nausea and constipation and no bigger boob benefit? Blah. Supposedly the second trimester will be a glorious period of time, but it’s still 2 weeks away and I am not optimistic.

However, I’m sure that by Friday, when I am home and shooting the breeze with my dad, I’ll change my tune. I love Christmas, normally, and I definitely love the family time that comes with it. 2010 has been a pretty awesome year, so I have a lot to be thankful for. Plus, a lot to look forward to in 2011!


Leave a comment