Still thankful

It’s hard to believe that Thanksgiving was only a week ago and even harder to believe that Christmas is just 3 weeks away. We are in full blown Christmas mode in the O’Neill-Raser abode, with the tree and stockings up. Quinn seems to love the lights, saying “wow” whenever she sees a lit-up tree or house.

We had a lovely Thanksgiving holiday, celebrating with our friends Jason and Amy. In yet another example of what a small world it is, one of Michael’s old Princeton neighbors was also a guest (and a social worker, so we all had things to talk about).

This was my first Thanksgiving (literally) away from my family and it was really strange not to be home. Not only did I miss my family, of course, but I also really missed our traditional foods – jello and cabbage salad in particular! It’s funny the things that make a holiday whole. We are going home for Christmas though, and I can’t wait.

This year, like every year, I have so many things to be thankful for. My amazing, wonderful family, including my soon-to-be-a-mother sister; my remarkable friends; my husband, who works so hard to support us; and, of course, my daughter, who is becoming more and more a little person every day. She never ceases to amaze me (sometimes in not so nice ways, like when I am amazed by the amount of poo she has in one day) and I have been so blessed to spend this year at home with her watching her grow.

Image

Leave a Reply

