Buenos Dias, Espana! “Spanish” Breakfast

I haven’t made a breakfast entrée yet for our culinary trip around the world, so I figured I’d start today. The recipe is from Mark Bittman’s The Best Recipes in the World, and while I question the actual “Spanish-ness” of it, that didn’t stop me from trying it out. According to Bittman the recipe was created by Jose Andres, a Washington D.C. area chef from Spain. I’m thinking he wanted to give brunch a Spanish flair and so gave French Toast a fancy name. To wit: Torrijas Castellanas.

Here is the recipe:

3 eggs
1 cup milk
1 cup heavy cream
Pinch of salt
1/4 cup ground cinnamon
1/4 cup sugar
4 thick slices brioche (I used challah)
8 tbsps/1 stick butter
2 tbsps extra virgin olive oil (I used canola)

WP_000831 (1)

Obviously, this isn’t a healthy breakfast!

It’s pretty easy to make. Combine the eggs, milk, cream, and salt in a large shallow bowl. Combine the cinnamon and sugar on a plate. (This is a lot of cinnamon and the mixture is basically brown. When I make cinnamon-sugar my sugar ratio is much higher.) Soak a piece of bread or two in the egg mixture, while you put the butter and oil in a pan over medium-high heat.

Hello, heart attack
Hello, heart attack

Turn the bread in the egg mixture so it soaks well.  When the butter is nice and melty, add the bread into the pan. Don’t  crowd! Brown the bread nicely on both sides (Bittman says 6-10 minutes total. I found that the first side took much longer.).

WP_000835 (1)

Remove from pan and then dredge in the cinnamon sugar mixture. Coat both sides evenly and serve hot.

WP_000838 (1)

Mike ate his with syrup. I put a little cream on mine. Quinn had both. In fact, this was the first meal from this project that Quinn had seconds of. (Or firsts.)

WP_000836 (1)

Quinn’s approval aside, this wasn’t a favorite. It was just way, way too much. Too much sweet, too much creamy, too much bread, too much (I honestly can’t believe I am writing any of those things). I think if I made it again, I’d cut smaller slices, cut the cinnamon down, and soak for less time. This is definitely, as the Cookie Monster says, a “sometimes food.”

This evening, I am making paella. I hope I am more satisfied with the results!

Leave a Reply

