My favorite books – 2014

This year, I read 109 books (might make it to 110 if I read my current novel very quickly). 2014 was the year I discovered Agatha Christie and Hercule Poirot (how had I missed Christie and her Belgian detective?) and devoured several new series (particular favorites: the Enola Holmes books and the Gareth and Gwen mysteries) . Of the 109 books, the following 11 stood out (listed in no particular order). While I had a clear favorite in 2013 (The excellent The Golem and the Jinni), I’m hard pressed to say which of the following I liked the best. Ultimately, they are all worth a read.

The House of Silk – Anthony Horowitz
Sherlock Holmes comes back to life in this excellent mystery by Horowitz. The novel both captures the spirit of Holmes and the voice of Watson.

The Sandcastle Girls – Chris Bohjalian
A haunting novel about the Armenian genocide. Extremely well written, this book stayed with me long after I finished it.

The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie
Hard to pick just one Poirot, but this is definitely it. Great mystery with a fantastic ending that I never saw coming.

The Liar’s Gospel – Naomi Alderman
A difficult book to read, this book turns the Gospels on their heads. A striking portrait of the man Jesus might have been.

Belle Cora – Phillip Margulies
A captivating read, filled with vivid characters, none more than Belle Cora herself. My only critique of this book was that it ended too soon.

Inamorata – Megan Chance
This novel brought Venice, my most favorite city in the world, to life. A slightly supernatural thriller.

Skeletons at the Feast – Chris Bohjalian
An extremely well written novel about the last days of World War II, set on the Eastern Front. Told from the perspective of a German family fleeing the Russian force, it offered a fresh, and genuine, perspective on the atrocities of the Holocaust.

Artful – Peter David
A vampire story featuring the Artful Dodger of Oliver Twist. This was funny and well-paced and I really enjoyed it.

While Beauty Slept – Elizabeth Blackwell
A take on the Sleeping Beauty myth.

The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
A tear-jerker for sure, but also one of the most honest portrayals of  cancer that I have ever read.

The Misremembered Man – Christina McKenna
A rich, sad, and poignant novel that made me want to go back to Ireland.

Can’t wait to see what new reads 2015 brings!

Leave a Reply

